The Latvian alphabet consists of 33 letters, 22 Roman letters (these do not include Q, W, X, or Y) and 13 extra letters which have symbols above or below the letter. These symbols are called "diacritic marks". Diacritic marks change the way you pronounce the letter.

Below you can see each of the Latvain letters and listen to how you should pronounce them.

Learn the Latvian alphabet

A a

Ā ā

B b

C c

Č č

D d

E e

Ē ē

F f

G g

Ģ ģ

H h

I i

Ī ī

J j

K k

Ķ ķ

L l

Ļ ļ

M m

N n

Ņ ņ

O o

P p

R r

S s

Š š

T t

U u

Ū ū

V v

Z z

Ž ž

Learn French

If you are interested in learning French our English to French translations and Grammar page is a good place to start.